Skip to content

Kawasaki Rose

6 August 2011

This is the classic Kawasaki Rose. I made this model using the diagram in Origami for the Connoisseur, which can be a difficult book to acquire at times. However, this is one of the essential books serious origami folders own.

I used traditional origami paper to make the the first rose on the left, which was the first Kawasaki rose I created. I then used 9″ traditional origami paper to create the yellow rose. For the third rose, I used handmade paper I purchased in Amsterdam. Using the handmade paper improved the look of the finished rose exponentially because its softer texture allowed for a more natural look, especially when it came to forming the petals.

Because Origami for the Connoisseur is no longer in print, you will only find used copies of it for an average of $45. I was lucky enough to find my copy for under $20 after months of searching.

While there are free diagrams online for the New Kawasaki Rose, I find that this re-vamped diagram is more difficult to make than the original, even with video tutorials.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10 July 2013 1:53 am

    Can I simply just say what a relief to find
    someone who actually understands what they’re talking about on the web. You certainly know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people ought to check this out and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you’re not more popular because you surely have
    the gift.

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Kawasaki Rose Tutorial « Aspiring Folder

Leave a comment